1 Year from Learning to Code: Leveling Up

Photo by Jack Sloop on Unsplash

1 Year from Learning to Code: Leveling Up

1 Year from Learning to Code: Leveling Up

June 2022 marked the beginning of an expedition that has since redefined my professional landscape. From taking the initial hesitant steps into the world of coding to landing my first developer role within a year, this journey has been nothing short of transformative.

The Starting Point: June 2022

Diving into coding, I was met with various languages and concepts that seemed like a maze. I chose Python for its approachability. My initial days were punctuated with broken code and rookie mistakes, but every error was a lesson, and each lesson brought clarity.

#100DaysOfCode: My North Star

Early on, I embraced the #100DaysOfCode challenge. It wasn't just about coding daily; it was about building discipline, consistency, and resilience. Documenting my progress on social media became a ritual, and the community's feedback was invaluable. Not only did this challenge push me to improve daily, but it also made my learning journey visible to prospective employers.

Landing My First Developer Role

All those hours spent debugging and enhancing my skills culminated when I landed my first role as a developer. What made this even more special was the realization that I was about to celebrate my 1-year anniversary with the company. The on-the-job experience further sharpened my skills, teaching me real-world applications of what I'd learned and introducing me to nuances I had yet to encounter during my solo learning.

Evolving My Approach

While social media was pivotal in my initial coding journey, I've decided to pivot. I've unplugged from the incessant notifications to focus on deep work and introspection. Now, I'm channeling my energy into blogging—a platform where I aim to share my knowledge, chronicle my experiences, and connect with an audience eager to learn and grow in the tech space.

Onwards and Upwards

As I look to the future, the horizon is filled with possibilities. From exploring advanced tech domains to mentoring others on a similar path, I am buoyed by the promise of what lies ahead. This year has taught me that with dedication, the right resources, and a supportive community, one can not only learn to code but thrive in the tech industry.

Looking for more farm, horse, passive income, and tech insights from a farmer-turned-software engineer?

You’ll find me most active on Medium, but if you’d like to connect or support me feel free to explore all of my links here!

https://stan.store/marciacripps

For even more valuable content, subscribe to my newsletter, where I share the latest news, exclusive deals, and weekly tips on passive income, farm life, horse care, tech innovations, coding, and insights on agtech. My content is designed to benefit farmers, software engineers, and small business owners alike, so join the conversation and let’s grow together!

*disclaimer I do make a commission off Amazon purchases and Stan store.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Marcia Cripps by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!